World of Outlaws set for the Sun Prairie Sprint Car Classic

World of Outlaws set for the Sun Prairie Sprint Car Classic

September 26, 2019 / Comments 0 / 394 / Uncategorized
Jjtop New
Facebook It
Tweet It
Pinterest It

 with the IRA at Angell Park Speedway on Sunday, Aug. 21

SUN PRAIRIE, Wisc. — August 15, 2016 — History will be made at Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wisconsin on Sunday, August 21 as the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series visits the historic third-mile for the first time ever.

The Sun Prairie Sprint Car Classic will feature the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series, plus the Bumper to Bumper Interstate Racing Association (IRA). The Mid-State Equipment/Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Racing Series will also be in action.

Brad Sweet is the only current full-time World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series driver that has raced at Angell Park Speedway. The 30-year-old made seven starts at the track between 2007 and 2009, with the majority of those coming with the United States Auto Club (USAC). Sweet has a pair of runner-up finished at Angell Park Speedway in his career.

Donny Schatz is the current World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series point leader, as he chases his eighth championship. The North Dakota native has 16 victories this season to go along with 56 top-10 finishes, of which 43 are top-five performances. Each of those statistics leads the series. Schatz has seven wins in his career in the state of Wisconsin, including earlier this season at Cedar Lake Speedway.

David Gravel enters the event second in points on the strength of a career-high seven wins thus far in 2016. The native of Watertown, Connecticut won the most recent World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series event in the state of Wisconsin at Wilmot Raceway on July 30.

Daryn Pittman, the 2013 Outlaws champion, and Sweet, teammates at Kasey Kahne Racing have each also won seven times thus far in 2016. Sweet is third in points, just three markers behind Gravel, while Pittman is one-point behind his teammate.

Joey Saldana, who is a past winner in Wisconsin at Beaver Dam Raceway, Cedar Lake Speedway and Wilmot Raceway, rounds out the current top-five in points.

Also in action at the Sun Prairie Sprint Car Classic will be Shane Stewart, who has five wins this season and is just outside of the top-five in points. Jason Johnson, who just scored the biggest win of his career last weekend in the Knoxville Nationals, now has a pair of wins this season. Logan Schuchart in eighth in points and won in Wisconsin earlier this year at Cedar Lake Speedway. Jason Sides in ninth in the standings, with one win thus far in 2016. Paul McMahan, who is chasing his first win of the season, is 10th in the current standings.

Jacob Allen, who is Schuchart’s teammate at Shark Racing, has seven top-10 finishes this season, including a pair of third-place finishes, which marked his career-best showings.

Greg Wilson and Clyde Knipp are battling for the Kevin Gobrecht Award for Rookie of the Year with the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series in 2016. Wilson has one victory this season, while Knipp continues to gain experience at tracks he is visiting for the first time.

Jeremy Schultz is the current IRA point leader, with Scotty Thiel, who has won twice at Angell Park Speedway this season in second. Scotty Neitzel, who won a 360-sprint car race at Angell Park on August 14th, sits third. Matt Vandevere holds down the fourth spot in the standings and Kyle Marten rounds out the top-five.

Tickets for the Sun Prairie Sprint Car Classic on Sunday, August 21 can be purchased online at or by phone at 815-344-2023 and at the track on race day.

For more information on tickets, visit

Twitter: @SLS_Promotions

Facebook: SLS Promotions LLC



Compare List