Montieth Scores Second Williams Grove Win Of Season, Franek Scores URC

Montieth Scores Second Williams Grove Win Of Season, Franek Scores URC

September 26, 2019 / Comments 0 / 409 / Uncategorized
Facebook It
Tweet It
Pinterest It

Mechanicsburg – Brian Montieth of Phoenixville outraced Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell to pick up his second Williams Grove Speedway sprint car victory of the season on Friday night.

Campbell led untl the final lap and a half when Montieth got by for the win.

In the URC Sprint main, URC point leader Davie Franek proved victorious, scoring in 360 action for the first time at the track although he already owned a pair of 358 sprint car wins at the oval.

Rodney Westhafer led only the first lap of the 25-lap sprint car main before the red flag unfurled for a flip in the first turn that saw Nicole Bower leave the speedway.

Bower was uninjured.

Westhafer started on the pole of the main and Campbell flanked him and the pair ran one-two until the halfway point when Cambpell was able to slice across the turns for the lead.

But all the while Cambpell was working on Westhafer, 10th starter Montieth was moving forward, up to fifth on the eighth lap and then fourth over Cory Haas on the same lap as Cambpell took the lead.

After getting control, Cambpell at times struggled with lapped cars as Montieth continued his march, taking second from Westhafer with eight laps to go.

Witih four laps to go, Montieth had caught Cambpell for the lead but just then Cambpell made some great moves in traffic that proved to buy him some time and that coupled with a Montieth miscue in the second turn with three to go, again gave Campbell some breathing room.

But with two to go Montieth had made up for his mistake and the then followed Cambpell down the backchute with a run before blasting to the inside in the third and fourth turns to take command for the win, his first since April 22 at the track.

Westhafer was third followed by Brock Zearfoss and Austin Hogue.

Sixth through 10th went to Cory Haas, Alan Krimes, Doug Esh, Tim Glatfelter and Rick Lafferty.

Heats went to Esh, Krimes and Zearfoss.

Montieth walked away with $4,300 for his win including a $500 bonus for winning from the fifth row. His winning margin was .085 seconds.

Doug Esh won the Jim Campbell Jr. Hard Charger worth $300 while Glenndon Forsythe was the lucky driver picked to win $500 also in honor of Campbell.

The URC main had Justin Whittall leading the first 11 laps before third starter Franek went out front off of turn four.

But Whittall proved tough to pass for Franek as he bolted back into control as the pair hit the first corner but then Franek himself came back after Whittall to make the pass stick in the next set of turns before pulling away.

Fifth starter Chuck Hebing mixed it up throughout the event, eventually ending up second, 1.754 seconds behind at the finish.

Finishing third was Eric Tomecek followed by Jason Schultz and Josh Weller, who completed a whale of a run from the 18th starting spot.

Sixth through 10th went to Derek Locke, Whittall who faded late, Jimmy Stitzel, Curt Michael and Glenndon Forsythe.

Heats went to Robbie Stillwaggon, Hebing and Chris Coyle.

Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at or by keeping up with the oval on Facebook or Twitter.

August 12, 2016

Feature Finishes:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Brian Montieth, 2. Matt Campbell, 3. Rodney Westhafer, 4. Brock Zearfoss, 5. Austin Hogue, 6. Cory Haas, 7. Alan Krimes, 8. Doug Esh, 9. Tim Glatfelter, 10. Rick Lafferty, 11. Steve Owings, 12. Kody Lehman, 13. Scott Fisher, 14. Troy Fraker, 15. Anthony Fiore, 16. George Streaker Jr., 17. Jay Galloway, 18. Steve Buckwalter, 19. Glenndon Forsythe, 20. Nicole Bower

URC sprints, 25 laps: 1. Davie Franek, 2. Chuck Hebing, 3. Eric Tomecek, 4. Jason Schultz, 5. Josh Weller, 6. Derek Locke, 7. Justin Whittall, 8. Jimmy Stitzel, 9. Curt Michael. 10. Glenndon Forsythe, 11. Tim Wagaman Jr., 12. Jason Clauss, 13. Chris Arnold, 14. Jared Esh, 15. Chris Coyle, 16. Troy Betts, 17. Adam Carberry, 18. Brent Michalski, 19. Rob Dietrick, 20. Mark Sasso, 21. Jason Chrry, 22. George Suprick III., 23. Robbie Stillwaggon, 24. Mark Smith

DNQ: Jonathan Swanson



Compare List